The other side of Twitter

Wait, wait and wait!!! What do I mean by other side of Twitter? Is twitter like a coin with heads and tails or like moon which has a darker side and a side under light.

Well, that's not what I meant. Like, each social media, having different divisions and communities, twitter also have some secret communities which do not come to light until one has somehow moved towards such . Today, I am going to introduce you to one such community which will change your outlook towards twitter.

What is Twitter ?

First and foremost, twitter is a microblogging platform where one can share their views through short messages. It has also become a means to share updates faster with followers and also to gain latest news. Nowadays, people also use it to find what's trending and to make new trends to make their voice or opinion heard.

It is a very big platform. You will find poets, politicians, movie stars, writers, normal middle class people like you and me, influencers, mediapersons, big organizations and whatnot.

But wait!!! Didn't I said I will tell you about something different ? Well, here we go.

The Hidden and Underrated Community

So here is the secret. There is a flourishing Developers community on Twitter. Yes, I was talking about it only from this long. So what?? Developers also have the right to be on twitter.

The point is that until you don't see the developer community for yourself, you will not understand what I mean. It is one of the best. They will help you, guide you, share their knowledge with you. You will find so much useful links, resources that you never found on any other platform.

Even some internship and job opportunities also come on this platform. Can't believe this? Let me show you the proof?

IMG_20200914_123339.jpg

Many have even landed jobs and internships through twitter and I am not joking. The point is that you have your extra profile like LinkedIn and portfolio which you can link so one can find more about you and can meet many good people over here who can get to know you. Hence, twitter is a very effective and very supportive networking platform.

Real Benefit Example

So this is still hard to believe. Until I can showcase how I benefited from this platform, then what's the point.

So I wanted to improve my blogging skills so I can present content good. I landed up a blogging course. So here is the link to it

bloggingfordevs.com

This is not it. Recently, I landed up with Hashnode Technical Writing Bootcamp opportunity also from here. So yeah, it is helping me improve my skills- even my blogging skills. I got to learn what is trending, how other developers are doing, what they are learning. I get lots of tips on how to improve myself from Twitter everyday.

I don't use it to get news updates but it is a learning and networking platform for me. I got to know many amazing developers like Catalin Pit sir, Danny Thompson sir, Quincy Larson sir. Those kind of people whom I couldn't communicate with earlier now I can. It has been very advantageous for me since a month I have been using it productively. I hardly use it for 15-20 minutes per day but it give me good return.

You can also try to follow some developers and some hashtags like #developers #machinelearning and ultimately you will meet very amazing people and your outlook towards twitter will change. It has a very cool dev community indeed.

Hope this article will be of use to you. I will be coming up with more blogs sooner. Till then, keep hustling, keep coding:)